Focal Points play a critical role in coordinating and facilitating the activities of the Gaborone Declaration. 

The GDSA has both associate member countries and signatory member countries. Associate member countries are those that have expressed a formal interest to join the GDSA and have nominated a government Focal Point to facilitate communication. Signatory countries are those that have not only nominated a government Focal Point but those that have signed the Gaborone Declaration as well.

National Focal Points are the primary point of contact for Gaborone Declaration matters and act as liaisons with the Secretariat. The Focal Points are involved in communication, information dissemination, representation, collaboration with stakeholder groups, and monitoring, promoting and/or facilitating national implementation of the Gaborone Declaration. 

Learn more about the Focal Points and their diverse experiences and perspectives through interviews conducted at the Focal Points meeting in February 2016.



Ms. Tsalano Kedikilwe
GDSA Focal Point for Botswana

Ms. Kedikilwe is the Principal Natural Resource Officer 2 within the Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources Conservation, and Tourism.



Gabon has nominated three Focal Points, as follows:

Pr. Lee White
Executive Secretary, Agence Nationale des Parcs Nationaux

Mme Sonia Olendo
Advisor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

M. Ludovic Ngok Banak
Advisor, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development




Mr. Peter Dery
GDSA Focal Point for Ghana

Mr. Dery is the Deputy Director within Ghana’s Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation.


Mr. Richard Mwendandu
GDSA Focal Point for Kenya


Mr. Mwendandu is Director, Multilateral Environments Agreements within the Kenyan Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources.





Mr. Jeremiah Sokan
GDSA Focal Point for Liberia


Mr. Sokan is the National Coordinator of Climate Change Secretariat at the Environmental Protection Agency of Liberia.



Ms. Ignela Randriantsizafy
GDSA Focal Point for Madagascar


Ms. Randriantsizafy is an Engineer in the Ministry of Environment, Ecology, and Forests.



Ms Teresa Magalhaes Pinto
GDSA Focal Point for Mozambique

Ms. Pinto works for Mozambique’s National Council for Sustainable Development.


Mr. Olimpio Nhuleipo
GDSA Focal Point for Namibia

Mr. Nhuleipo is a Chief Economist in the Ministry of Environment and Tourism.

South Africa


govt of rwanda.jpeg

Ms. Juliet Kabera
GDSA Focal Point for Rwanda

Ms. Juliet Kabera is the Director General of Environment and Climate Change within the Rwanda Ministry of Environment.

Mr. Stuart Mangold
GDSA Focal Point for South Africa

Mr. Mangold is Senior Policy Advisor for African Bilateral Affairs in South Africa’s Department of Environmental Affairs.




Mr. Timotheo Mande
GDSA Focal Point for Tanzania

Mr. Mande is the GDSA Focal Point within the Division of Environment, Vice President's Office.

DSC_0055 (1).jpg

Uganda has nominated two Focal Points, as follows:

Mr. Paul Mafabi
Director, Environment Affairs within the Ministry of Water and Environment

Ms. Lucy Iyango (Alternate)
Assistant Commissioner for Wetlands within the Ministry of Water and Environment


All photos © Conservation International / Naomi Taylor